Roxham butternut winter squash

Fruits have started to appear on the Roxham butternut squash. I hope they will establish themselves before the first frost as they do seem to be a slow grower. I am amazed. I didn’t think it had forgiven me for the transplant to a cramped shady spot.

As soon as 2-3 fruits are doing well I will remove the others and once established I’ll tip the trailing plants to give it every chance of growing well.

Butternut squash (Cucurbita moschata) has a sweet, nutty taste similar to that of a pumpkin. It has yellow skin and orange fleshy pulp. When ripe, it turns increasingly deep orange, and becomes sweeter and richer. It grows on a vine.

Leave a Reply

