Daucus carota

Plot 51 CarotaThe carrot (Daucus carota subsp. sativus; etymology: from Late Latin carōta, from Greek καρότον karōton, originally from the Indo-European rootker- (horn), due to its horn-like shape) is a root vegetable, usually orange in colour, though purple, red, white, and yellow varieties exist.

The modern carrot originated in Afghanistan about 1100 years ago. It appears to have been introduced to Europe via Spain by the Moors in the 8th century. The 12th-century Arab Andalusian agriculturist, Ibn al-‘Awwam, describes both red and yellow carrots.

After last month’s carota greek tragedy I was hoping I could salvage a few carota and today I pulled two wonderful small, round, tender and crunchy Pariser Markt 4 carota! One of those joyful little moments, could have been at a little french market.

Last year I tried growing carota in a container (eaten by slugs) and this year in a coldframe descimated by a furry animal that likes to dig holes. Next year I will attempt to grow them in a chicken wire wooden frame. I’m not giving up, I really want to grow french carrots, it’s my dream.

Leave a Reply

