January plot to plate: roasted garlic and root veg mash with sage oil

Plot 51 Sage

My Sage Salvia officinalis plant was given to me by Costa the barber in Highgate village. Last summer Costa gave me a little corner of Cyprus and my very own herb garden: mint, thyme, oregano, marjoram and sage. The plant is young but I still managed to cut enough leaves this morning to make the sage oil.

Plot 51 Roasted garlic and root veg mash with sage oil

Roasted garlic and root veg mash with sage oil 

What better way to start the dark, wet days of early January than with the healing properties of sage and the comfort eating of mash. Roasted garlic, potato, sweet potato and parsnip drizzled with sage oil by Yotam Ottolenghi served with a sausage and bean cassolette. Ottolenghi is not wrong when he mentions the washing up. There is enough here to keep you tied to the kitchen sink till new year’s eve 2013.

According to ‘The flavour thesaurus’ by Niki Segnit, sage has an affinity for dense, sweet-savoury foods apple, bacon, pork, butternut squash and tomato.

2 thoughts on “January plot to plate: roasted garlic and root veg mash with sage oil

  1. I love sage…I am lucky to have it everywhere around me, so I can pick it whenever I want…But as a spice in the food, or tea, i use it a lot…Sage oil on the other hand sounds interesting…

Leave a Reply

